Library Cards and Your Patron Record
Wilson Community College library users must carry a current library card in order to use the college library and its services. Library cards for community users are available from the library staff at the Circulation desk; Wilson Community College students use the student ID card issued them from Student Services. Library users must be at least eighteen years old to have a library card.
A new library user will be asked to present a picture ID (North Carolina driver’s license or Wilson Community College student ID card) and fill out a brief information form. A community user will be issued a community user ID card. If this card is lost, a replacement card may be issued for $1.00. This library card must be presented in order to check out materials or to use the library’s computers.
A user with overdue books or unpaid library fines will be unable to use any library services. Outstanding blocks can also result in grades or transcripts being held. Library users are responsible for all materials they check out. In accordance with North Carolina law, we do not disclose any information regarding library patron records. We strive to ensure the privacy of all library users.
Circulation of Materials
Books from the general collection (second floor or the fiction area downstairs) circulate for four (4) weeks. Newly acquired books and titles on the bestseller list circulate for seven (7) days. You may only have ten (10) books checked out at any given time.
Materials from our audiovisual collection may be checked out for two days, with a limit of two items per day. Overdue fines are one dollar ($1.00) per day. Due to demand, we cannot accept reservations for audiovisuals.
The reserves collection is housed behind the front desk. Items in this collection include course reserves, early childhood materials and permanent reserves (such as GED study guides). Check-out dates range from two hours to two weeks, depending on the material. Some items in the reserves collection are for in-library use only. Overdue fines are twenty-five cents ($0.25) per day.
You may request a renewal for any item checked out from the library, provided no one else has requested that item. You may bring the items to the library and we will renew them for you. If you choose telephone renewal, please have the items in hand so that you can read us the barcode number on *each* item. We will not accept renewals over the phone unless you can identify the material. Videos may only be renewed one time.
If there is an item that you need and it is currently checked out from the library, you may fill out a recall request form at the front desk. We will contact the person who has the material and request that they return it. We will notify you once it has been brought back to the library.
Please note that items still within the check-out period are not eligible for recall. For example, if the book you want was checked out yesterday by someone, they will not be required to bring it back until the borrowing period is over. We can place a hold on that item, however, and you will be notified when it is returned.
In accordance with North Carolina law, we do not disclose information regarding patron records. Please refer to the NC General Statute Chapter 125 Article 3 for more information.
Internet Use Policy
Download a PDF of the Internet Use Policy.
- We do not have a public address system or public telephone. We cannot take messages
for people using the library.
- No food or drink is allowed in the library.
- Use of cellular phones is not permitted.