State-Level Awards 2022

Congratulations to the following award nominees!

photo of Chris Talbot

Christopher Talbot

Academic Excellence Award Nominee

One student from each of the 58 community colleges receives Academic Excellence Awards (AEA).  AEA selection requirements are consistent with Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society criteria. Students:

  • Must be currently enrolled,
  • Must have completed at least 12 semester hours in an associate degree program, and
  • Must have a cumulative grade point average of no less than 3.25.

Each student receives a plaque and medallion in honor of their academic accomplishments.

photo of Danielle Reece

Danielle Reece

Dallas Herring Award Nominee

The Dallas Herring Achievement Award was established by the North Carolina Community College System in 2010 to honor the late Dr. Dallas Herring, one of the state’s earliest advocates of community colleges.  The award is bestowed annually upon a current or former student who best embodies Dr. Herring’s philosophy of “taking people where they are and carrying them as far as they can go.”

John Barnhart

Governor Robert W. Scott Student Leadership Award Nominee

In 2004, the North Carolina Association of Community College Presidents created the Governor Robert Scott Leadership Award as a way to (1) recognize student leadership on a statewide level while also (2) honoring former Governor Bob Scott.  Governor Scott served as the State’s chief executive from 1968-1972 and then was president of our system for 12 years from 1983-1995.  Governor Scott passed away in January of 2009, but he was very humbled that the system named a student award in his honor.  This is an award designed to highlight outstanding curriculum student leadership and service.

Scroll to Top

Severe Weather Alert

Due to the threat of severe weather, the college will be closed on Friday, September 7, 2023.